Cultures and Community Project 2017

Cultures and Community Project 2017
January 31, 2017 Lauren Attana

About the Cultures and Community team

The project team is made up of six staff from the participating National institutions:



Michael McGuinness
Business Analyst
Griffith University

Sarah Nisbet

Sarah Nisbet
Project Manager
eRSA

Alexis Tindall

Alexis Tindall
Research Engagement Specialist
eRSA



Meredith McCullough
Software Carpentry, Communications & Outreach,
VicNode



Tyne Sumner 

Software Carpentry, Communications & Outreach,
VicNode

Jan Hettenhausen
Senior Programmer/Web Developer,
Griffith University


Governance

Advisory Board

Professor Richard Maltby Richard.Maltby@flinders.edu.au


Professor Mark Finnane M.finnane@griffith.edu.au


Caroline Homer Caroline.Homer@education.tas.gov.au


Dr Kylie Brass
Kylie.Brass@humanities.org.au

Cathie Oats
Coats@nla.gov.au


Professor Hamish Maxwell-Stewart Hamish.MaxwellStewart@utas.edu.au


Professor Paul Arthur
P.Arthur@uws.edu.au


Technical Advisory Board

Elycia Wallis
Ewallis@museum.vic.gov.au


Lyle Winton
L.Winton@unimelb.edu.au


Sathish Sathya Moorthy Sathish.Sathyamoorthy@csiro.au


  • “It would be impossible to do the type of research that we’re doing without them – it is a major factor in achieving our research outcomes.”  
    Associate Professor Con DoolanSchool of Mechanical Engineering, University of Adelaide
  • “Having access to greater computer power helps us put in place a more realistic model in terms of the number of atoms you can have in the system and that improves the predictive power of the calculations.”
    Professor Andrea GersonMinerals and Materials Science & Technology
  • "The eRSA support is very personal and solution-focused and not just a brushing off 'it's-your-fault-check-your-code' kind of support which one sometimes gets from University tech supports. I very much appreciate the help."  
    Sven SchellenbergSchool of Science, RMIT University
  • “Open source intelligence is about extracting information from blogs, news sites and social media platforms, any information that can be freely accessed online. There’s way too much information out there for an individual or group of people to comprehend, so we have created automated tools to allow our users to extract the data they need...access to the latest technology allow[s] us to continue to provide the best platforms to our end-users.”
    David BlockowData to Decisions CRC
  • On using an eResearch program to complete 3D modelling of architectural records: “We were able to build an interactive, photo image model of the [historical South Australian property Joseph Elliot’s cottage] home – transforming simple sketches and floor plans into an interactive 3D experience... what we have now is a computerised model that allows us to experience the Elliott house beyond just words on paper”.
    Associate Professor Christine Garnaut
  • "eResearch capabilities ... ensure we can continue to use the latest methods available in our field. The hope is that through the use of these technologies, we will be able to achieve some research outcomes that may otherwise not have been possible.”  
    Professor Ina Bornkessel-SchlesewskyCognitive Neuroscience, UniSA

Our partners

University of South Australia logo